Please mail nomination form to:

Hoover Presidential Foundation
P.O. Box 696
West Branch, IA 52358
Phone: 319-643-5327

Nomination Form:

Nominations are now being accepted for the
2017 Uncommon Public Service Award

Download 2017 Nomination Form


Iowa Legislators are eligible to be nominated.

2017 Nomination Deadline:

Nomination Forms should be postmarked or
emailed by March 1, 2017


* Some previous recipients include State Reps. Annette Sweeney, Jeff Kaufmann, St. Sen. Nancy Boettger, St. Rep. Helen Miller and State Sen. Wally Horn

Herbert Hoover Uncommon Public Service Award

Presented by: Hoover Presidential Foundation

The Uncommon Public Service Award was created by the Hoover Presidential Foundation to honor those public servants who make use of their time doing service work and humanitarian projects. While the Hoover Presidential Foundation appoints a panel of judges from the Board of Trustees, the Foundation requests the public to nominate a legislator who exemplifies and demonstrates honesty, integrity and uncommon and extraordinary public service to the people of Iowa. The nominees are judged solely on their public service and humanitarian projects. Names, locations and political affiliation of the nominated legislators are not seen by the judges.

"Being a politician is a poor profession.
Being a public servant is a noble one." -Herbert Hoover

View their stories through the links on the right.
Past winners include:
2016 Senator Tim Kapucian
2016 House Speaker Linda Upmeyer

2015 Senator Wally Horn
2015 Representative Helen Miller

2014 Senator Nancy Boettger
2014 Representative Steven Olson

2013 Senator Amanda Ragan
2013 Representative Dave Heaton

2012 Senator Steve Sodders
2012 Representative Royd Chambers

2011 Senator Robert E. Dvorsky
2011 Representative Annette Sweeney

2010 Senator Daryl Beall
2010 Representative Lance J. Horbach

2009 Senator Dennis Black
2009 Representative Jeff Kaufmann

2008 Senator David Johnson
2008 Representative Mark D. Smith

2007 Senator John Kibbie
2007 Representative Scott Raecker